Leyton Mayors - Waltham Forest Memories

Search this site 
Go to content

Main menu:

Leyton Mayors

Leyton > Leyton History
Mayors of the Municipal Borough of Leyton, Essex.
In 1926 the Leyton Urban District was granted a Charter of Incorporation.
In 1965 the area became part of the larger London Borough of Waltham Forest.

Years Name Notes
James B Slade Charter Mayor
1926-27 James B Slade (Second term)
1927-28 Captain David M Smith Died in Office, June 1928
1928-29 W C Russell
1929-30 S C Cochrane
1930-31 Albert Eric Bechervaise
1931-32 J B Shimmin
1932-33 F M Read
1933-34 A J Allanson
1934-35 F Turner
1935-36 E J Thorn
1936-37 Mrs N C Shimmin
1937-38 John Fitzgerald
1938-39 H Reynolds
1939-40 Alfred George Cochrane
1940-41 W H Mills
1941-42 Jenny Hammond
1942-43 W H Mills (second term)
1943-44 G J Leonard
1944-45 S G Rayner
1945-46 Mrs A Crown
1946-47 E A Rigg
1947-49 G S Fluck
1949-50 A W Bourne
1950-51 Henry Burton
1951-52 G W Burrell
1952-53 Mrs Rosina King
1953-54 A A French/td>
1954-55 C J Mills
1955-56 H Steer
1956-57 H E Martin
1957-58 Mrs A M M Burrell
1958-59 W J Low
1959-60 J J Walsh
1960-61 F W Wigg
1961-62 Frank W Marshall
1962-63 J A E Collins
1963-64 Aubrey L Chamberlain
1964-65 T C Messenger

Back to content | Back to main menu

Free web counter